Triumph’s TR Series began with the unveiling of a prototype (the TR1) at the 1952 London Motorshow. The TR2 was launched the following year, and so began an uninterrupted run of two-seater Sports Cars that ended in 1981 with the last of the TR8s.
Code named `Zest’, the TR4 was introduced in 1961 as a replacement for the TR3A. Though based on the chassis and drivetrain of its much-loved predecessor, it cut a far more modern dash, thanks to an all new Michelotti-styled body. Power was provided by Triumph’s proven OHV four-cylinder engine with capacity increased to 2138cc. Other mechanical updates included a wider track front and rear, rack and pinion steering and an all-synchromesh gearbox. The optional overdrive now operated on second and third gears as well as top. There was also the option of a unique hardtop with fixed glass rear window, integral rollbar and removable centre section. The short-lived, but now much sought after, TR5 was visually identical to the TR4, but notably more potent thanks to the 2498cc straight-six that sat in place of the TR4’s four-cylinder unit – a total of just 2,947 TR5s left the factory between October 1967 and November 1968. Built over an almost identical period, the TR250 was effectively a TR5 for the American market.
Finished in British Racing Green with a cream interior, this well kept example of the low volume TR250 model has just enjoyed a program of refurbishment, with attention to the interior and soft-top, and new tyres all round. The engine is said to run perfectly with good oil pressure and strong performance. The TR250 is in many ways the best of both worlds; the good looks of the earlier TR4, but with the smooth six cylinder performance of the later cars – a pretty tempting proposition!