Triumph’s TR Series began with the unveiling of a prototype (the TR1) at the 1952 London Motorshow. The TR2 was launched the following year, and so began an uninterrupted run of two-seater Sports Cars that ended in 1981 with the last of the TR8s.
Code named `Zest’, the TR4 was introduced in 1961 as a replacement for the TR3A. Though based on the chassis and drivetrain of its much-loved predecessor, it cut a far more modern dash, thanks to an all new Michelotti-styled body. Power was provided by Triumph’s proven OHV four-cylinder engine with capacity increased to 2138cc. Other mechanical updates included a wider track front and rear, rack and pinion steering and an all-synchromesh gearbox. The optional overdrive now operated on second and third gears as well as top. There was also the option of a unique hardtop with fixed glass rear window, integral rollbar and removable centre section. The short-lived, but now much sought after, TR5 was visually identical to the TR4, but notably more potent thanks to the 2498cc straight-six that sat in place of the TR4’s four-cylinder unit – a total of just 2,947 TR5s left the factory between October 1967 and November 1968. Built over an almost identical period, the TR250 was effectively a TR5 for the American market.
This stunning example rolled off the production line in October 1967, heading, as many TR250s did, to the export market of the United States. The car was repatriated in the late 1990s and comprehensively restored, and is now finished in the classic combination of navy blue with a retrimmed cream leather interior. Rapidly becoming one of the most desirable of all Triumph models, the TR250 is the perfect classic for long distance touring in the UK and Continental Europe.
Showing 71,200 miles recorded from new, the TR250 is offered with a history file containing current and several older MoT certificates, a UK V5, original handbook and Heritage Certificate. A wonderful proposition for the summer, and offered with No Reserve.